County Fair Aftermath

Days after my first county fair experience, I am finally emerging from the catacombs of the fairgrounds.  That’s not to say that my body is particularly thrilled with its lack of sleep and non-stop standing, but hey, I’m young.  I’ll survive.  I have to say that I am very impressed with all of the kids’ projects, behavior and participation.  I didn’t have 4-H when I was a kid, so this is all completely new for me, but I think it is something very special and beneficial for a growing population of technological children.

The beginning of the week started out hot and muggy, but as we progressed to Wednesday, the weather lightened up a little bit.  Through the livestock shows, a little judging opportunity and the promise of even more next year, I feel a new appreciation for my community and the families that reside here.

Beg. Showmanship Goat5

Dixon County Fair31

My task this year was to take pictures and basically try to soak up as much information as possible and meet new people.  As I returned to my office, I was faced with the daunting task of downloading and labeling over 2000 pictures.  I don’t think my co-workers were thrilled with the fact that I was taking up all of our bandwidth for 2 days trying to get everything onto my hard drive, but I finally got it done.

Barrel Racing27

So, all in all, I think it was a successful fair.  Now, back to the world of early childhood….

Dixon County Fair22

Leave a Reply

